Science Leadership

Dr. Anaba Anani, Ph.D.

Chief Battery Scientist

Anaba has distinguished himself in the storage/conversion energy industry in academia and private industry. He is recipient of Motorola’s Distinguished Innovation Award, Distinguished Achievement Award for Young Black Engineers, and ECS Young Author Award Nominations. He has also served as a Motorola SABA member and chaired the US Fuel Cell Council Portable Power Group.

Anaba earned his Masters and Doctorate degrees in Materials Science & Engineering with a minor in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University. He has authored or co-authored over 30 refereed articles in peer reviewed journals and is inventor or co-inventor of over 35 utility patents and 4 trade secrets.

Dr. Jin Sik Lee, Ph.D

Vice President, Battery Engineering

Jin Sik has over 24 years of experience in lithium batteries. He was the Chief Technology Officer at Ener1 since 2010 and developed lithium secondary cells and battery packs with next generation batteries of high energy density for electric vehicles (EV) and grid energy storage (ESS). He previously served with Vitzrcell for 10 years and developed a lithium primary batteries with hybrid cells, thermal batteries and high temperature batteries. He also studied SOFC fuel cells for his Post Doctorate in 2006 at Waterloo University in Canada.

Jin Sik holds a Doctorate degrees in chemical engineering and electrochemistry from Dankook University. He has authored or co-authored over 24 publications and 10 utility patents.